Vegetarians, vegans, ovolactovegetarians

Categories: Natural Product.

Did you know that the first vegetarians, vegans come from b.C.? Exactly from the time of Pythagoras. His students in the sixth century b.C decided to give up meat consumption by the bad feeling that supposed to kill animals. Something quite similar to the reasons why some people are vegetarians nowadays. In the East side, had much more success than in the Westside, as it was well received by Buddhists, Hindus and Jains. However, it was not until the XIX century when it appeared the term vegetarian.

Its origin is found in the Latin “vegetâre” which means to be alive, quicken. Something quite similar to the current vegetarian, who go beyond the killing of animals and relates to a healthier diet rich in fresh, natural and low engineered products.

Do you know Dr. Kelloggs, from the cereals, right? During the twentieth century Dr. John Kellogg worked in a hospital in the United States, and began offering patients a vegetarian diet. Among these patients were Henry Ford, Thomas Edison and George Bernard Shaw. Also well known in the business world, right?

That said, we will include the different varieties of “vegetarians” or “vegetalismos” to have knowledge.

  • Ovolactovegetarianos: a part from fruits, vegetables, grains, legumes and seeds, include consumption of milk and its derivatives and also eggs. (Although it is interesting that this word it is not get included in the RAE (Dictionary of the Royal Spanish Academy).
  • Lactovegetarians: include dairy products but not eggs. (Also not contained in the RAE).
  • Ovo vegetarians: include eggs but not dariry products. (Also not contained in the RAE).
  • Apivegetarians: include honey but not the rest of products. (Also not contained in the RAE).
  • Vegans: exclude all kinds of animal products, including honey.
  • Frugivorousness or fruitarians: eat only fruits, as frugivorous animals. (Word also not collected in the RAE).
  • Raw foodists: single intake of raw products. (Also not contained in the RAE).
  • Raw vegan: is the combination of raw foodists and vegans. only intake of vegetables, fruits, legumes, seeds in raw state. (Also not contained in the RAE).

And although all of us have come across these words, we must take into account that only vegetarian or vegan option is for the time being included in our dictionary of the Royal Spanish Academy.